The Visiting Writers Series presents Michael Poore on November 12

The English department’s Visiting Writers Series invites you to an evening with author Michael Poore on November 12 at 7:30 PM in Letterman 125.

Who is Michael Poore? What does he write?

Writer and teacher Michael Poore is the author of the cult classic Up Jumps The Devil, a biography of the devil as an American folk hero.

Check out this interview with Michael about Up Jumps The Devil, conducted by James Hill. Also, read this interview about who inspires him, from The Qwillery.

Still not convinced? Read what current Ball State students have to say.

“Brought to life by prose that is magical and yet all too real, Michael Poore’s Devil is a complex, funny, sweet, horrific rebel angel and the world’s first broken heart. Fans of Joe Hill and Neil Gaiman will love Up Jumps the Devil and will eagerly await more from this strange and compelling author.” – creative writing undergrad Sarah Hollowell

Want to meet Michael in person?

  • Come to his reading, November 12 at 7:30 PM in Letterman 125.
  • Come to his Q&A, November 13 at 9:30 am in 361 Robert Bell.

These events are open to the public. All faculty and students are encouraged to attend.

One last thing about Michael Poore

He signed up for our NaNoWriMo 2014 Face Off!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *