Welcome Back!

Welcome back students, faculty, and staff! We hope that each of you have had a productive and restful summer. The English Department has been working hard to ensure that the 2012-13 academic year not only begins smoothly but runs efficiently. As the autumn semester kicks off, we would like to remind each of you of some of the various clubs and events operating out of the English Department. If you have any questions regarding any of these clubs or events, please feel free to use the contact information below to get in touch with any supervisor, student officer, or coordinator. We encourage you to explore the many opportunities offered by our English students and faculty and to mark your calendars for these exciting events.

Writers’ Community:
Co-President – Elysia Smith – elsmith2@bsu.edu
Co-President – Tyler Fields – tdfields@bsu.edu
Co-President – Ben Rogers – brrogers@bsu.edu
Faculty Advisor – Todd McKinney – tdmckinney@bsu.edu

–Every Monday, 8pm, RB 291

English Education Club:
Student Officer – Ranger Puterbaugh – rlputerbaugh@bsu.edu
Faculty Advisor – Pam Hartman – pmhartman@bsu.edu

Graduate Student Advisory Board:
Student Officer – Bridget Gelms – bcgelms@bsu.edu
Faculty Advisor – Asher John – ajohn@bsu.edu

Visiting Writers:
Coordinator – Professor Mark Neely – maneely@bsu.edu

–Wednesday October 17: Alicia Erian: 7:30 p.m. (room TBA)

Alicia Erian is the author of a short-story collection, The Brutal Language of Love, and a novel, Towelhead, which was adapted into a film directed by Alan Ball. She also wrote the screenplay for Hammer and Anvil, which was developed at the Sundance Screenwriters Lab.

–Wednesday, November 14: Davy and Peter Rothbart performance (co-sponsored by Indiana Public    Radio): 7:30 p.m., Pruis Hall

This event celebrates FOUND Magazine‘s 10th Anniversary, Davy Rothbart’s new book of essays, and Peter Rothbart’s new album.

Davy Rothbart is the creator of Found Magazine, a contributor to This American Life and author of The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas and My Heart is an Idiot. He is also a filmmaker, and has been the subject of a documentary film.

Peter Rothbart is an award-winning songwriter and the frontman for The Poem Adept. His third solo album, You Are What You Dream, will be released this fall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *